Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Garlic and Lemon

Brussel sprouts as a a kid never did anything for me. They were usually frozen and boiled, with no salt. Blech.

Fast forward and I am now on a major veggie kick. My family loves trying out new recipes. I love photographing and styling it. and then eating it. Roasting vegetables is just one of the ways we prepare them, and we try to always do something different, whether its roasting, grilling, different spices, temperature. The possibilities are endless. Brussel sprouts have been a winner ever since we started roasting them in the oven. This recipetakes it to a whole new level with garlic and lemon.

Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-8

Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Garlic and Lemon

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Brussels sprouts
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 lemon
  • kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Serves 4

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Zest the lemon and reserve. Squeeze the lemon into a bowl for the next step.
  3. In a bowl, combine Brussels sprouts, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Toss well.
  4. Spread mixture on parchment paper on a baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes, when sprouts shrink slightly and appear slightly charred. Taste test for soft firmness and flip them over for more even doneness
  5. Garnish with lemon zest.
  6. Serve hot or cold. They won’t last long!

For even doneness, make sure to select similarly sized brussel sprouts. If you like them small, keep them small. I like mine a bit more full-bodied.

Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-1

When slicing the brussel sprouts, be sure to go down the center. Any leaves that fall off will become great for well-done snacking chips right out of the pan.

Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-2

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper go in the bowl over the brussel sprouts with EVOO and lemon juice.  I like to crush the peppercorns on the medium grind setting.

Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-4

Place sprouts in the pan, making sure they are evenly spaced. I usually cook mine face down first, but either way is fine. It depends on what you like.Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-6

Then I give them a quick flip and put them back in the oven.  My family likes them a little more charred – especially the snack chips from left over leaves!
Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-7

Now comes the fun part, where you get to garnish the brussel sprouts with lemon zest reserved from earlier.

Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-5

Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-8

On vacation this week, I have some time to devote to this blog that I wanted to get off the ground. I was excited to get to try out a new tripod adapter (Phottix Varos II Umbrella Holder). This was my first ever true 90 degree food photo. It’s impossible to hand hold really sharp food photos, and especially a high awkward angle. This is me behind the scenes in my new mini food studio set up, taking this with my iPad. If there’s something you’d like to see here, tweet me at @vickiesicnj or post your comment here.

Behind-the-Camera-Roasted-Brussel-Sprouts-with-Garlic-and-Lemon-1

4 thoughts on “Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Garlic and Lemon

  1. Vickie-
    Thanks for the new recipe! I used to hate Brussel Sprouts until I had learned about roasting them about a year ago. Cauliflower is terrific roasted as well. Nice photos!
    Iris Fisher

    • Thanks, Iris. I enjoy cauliflower, as well. In fact, it’s great on the grill – I’ve taken other pictures of it here on my blog, but maybe just maybe I might highlight it now – thanks for the idea! 🙂

      Vickie

LEAVE A COMMENT

