Gearing up for BBQ.

20130804-BBQ-Siculiano-4We’re in the height of BBQ season. I haven’t posted in a while, as I’ve been really learning how to be a better photographer – taking courses in food photography (most recently with Andrew Scrivani on CreativeLive – it was so awesome, and wakened the passion in me to capture the magic of a great food shot, wanting to make people sink their teeth right in.)

I’m fortunate to have a husband who takes over when it comes to fire and cooking over intense heat, and is also passionate about finding winning recipes and being exact when it comes to ingredient measurements. Quite hontestly, I just don’t have the patience for that – as far as time, yeah, I’d probably be able to find the time but it just turns me off to be fussy over a teaspoon of paprika or an eye measurement that looks like a teaspoon would in a teaspoon. I guess it’s just because I am a queen of the crockpot, which is very forgiving. Believe me, I’m quite precise and picky when it comes to photo processing and putting the final touches on my photos, picking up sexy highlights on my food shots, aligning my crop angle on tradeshow exhibits I photograph for work, including cropping and getting the story right in the frame.

 

I collected these photos in various folders on my hard drive, and external hard drive. I took a workshop with Jared Platt who changed my life in that I was able to have a streamlined process and workflow to serve these photos up to you today.

These photos were taken with both a point and shoot (before I learned the beauty and magic of DSLR), and a Canon DSLR. If you want to really lean how to use one of those fancy cameras (I can’t believe I thought point and shoot was the way to go – hold your arms out way in front of you unsupported, and turn your flash on so you can get as much red eye as possi20130804-BBQ-Siculiano-5ble).

BBQ season is here, and I am now armed and ready with my cameras (both Canon T4i, and yes, my iPhone). I can’t wait to share more photos with you that you can really sink your teeth into! Please post your comments here and tell me what you like and don’t, and what you’d like to see more of. I’m organized, always striving to be a better photography and I’m hungry! 🙂

 

Enjoy this BBQ slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

LEAVE A COMMENT

