Avgolemono Soup and Hummus at Zorba in Wayne, NJ

Greek Lemony Chicken soup, AvgolemonoI’ve gone to Zorba for a couple of years now, here in Wayne, NJ right next to Corrado’s on Berdan Avenue.  The restaurant is casual, with a nice selection of greek dishes.

I had the lemony chicken soup before, but I couldn’t remember its name, turns out the Avgolemono soup is not on the menu, but on a chalk board when you come in the front door.  I was glad to ask the waiter for this warm flavorful and fresh soup on this chilly October day.

First, I ordered the hummus, which comes with warm pita bread, cut into convenient snack bite sizes.  The hummus is served on a plate with olive oil, topped with fresh parsley and dotted with a kalamata olive.

Hummus and pita that didn't last long at Zorba in Wayne, NJ

The hummus is creamy in texture and flavorful, with not too much garlic to overpower the chickpea’s nutty flavor.  I always enjoy this dish to start as an appetizer, and we seem to work on it throughout our meal.  It was so yummy I couldn’t resist taking a bite out of it before I shot this picture with my iPhone 5, no flash ever necessary with good lighting!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted to my digital food blog, but now with my new upgraded phone, professional lighting equipment I’ve been working on, and soon to be upgrade to a better DSLR, I will be sharing more photos with you.  Stay tuned!

LEAVE A COMMENT